Showing Collections: 1 - 4 of 4
Blow Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B63
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1770-1875, of the Blow family of "Tower Hill," Sussex County, Va. and of the Waller family. Prominent correspondents in the collection include Philip Barraud, John Hartwell Cocke, Henry Lee and Edmund Ruffin. Most of these accessions were integrated as the collection was partially processed, but some are boxed separately. Includes a Blow family scrapbook containing many manuscript items. Collection includes: correspondence of Richard Blow (1746-1833), merchant, who had...
Dates:
1613-1960; Majority of material found in 1770-1875
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Richard Blow Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B625
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1772-1872, of the Blow family. Chiefly business papers, 1772-1820, of Richard Blow of Portsmouth and "Tower Hill," Sussex County, Va. and his son George Blow, Sr. and George Blow, Jr. of 'Tower Hill' and Williamsburg, Va. Richard Blow was a partner in stores in Virginia and North Carolina (trading as Richard Blow and Co., Briggs & Blow, Baker & Blow [South Quay, Nansemond County, Va.], Blow & Barksdale [Petersburg, Va.], and Blow and Scammel). He was also a plantation...
Dates:
1772-1872
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Henkel Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 H38
Scope and Contents
Correspondence, papers, and ledgers of the Rev. Paul Henkel (1754-1825), who was a Lutheran missionary, and David Henkel, Ambrose Henkel, and Solomon Henkel of New Market, Shenandoah Co., Va. Includes woodcuts and watercolor sketches, Ambrose Henkel's account ledger (1807-1813), notebooks on the study of Hebrew, memorandum book, indentures, certificates, and other. Topics include Lutheranism, printing, Shenandoah County, immigration, merchants, and education. Mss poem with a hand...
Dates:
1783-1874
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
William K. Perrin Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 95 P42
Scope and Contents
Business letters, 1833-1839, to Major William K. Perrin and 1855, 1860, to his son-in-law Wyndham Kemp, both of Gloucester County, Virginia from Perrin's step-son Robert W. Nicolson in Uniontown, Perry County, Alabama, about the management of a cotton plantation. Letters mention purchasing land, growing and selling cotton management of slaves, legal and banking matters and uprising of the Creek Indians. Papers, 1800-1855 and n.d., relating to the hiring out and management of slaves of...
Dates:
1732-1902; Majority of material found in 1820-1858
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center